Iced Lattes

Yes, my last post was months ago. BUT… I am four and a half months pregnant!

Baby and I

 

So get used to it! It’s probably going to get worse before it gets better. 🙂

I’ve had such good intentions to get new posts put onto my blog, but by the time I am home from work, nothing looks better than the couch/bed. My husband may be fading away from so few meals, but I seem to be growing just fine.

However, now that my energy is back up and my cravings are in full force, MAYBE you will get a few more posts in the next couple months.

Today we are nearing 90 degrees outside with a whole lot of darn humidity. Everyday I could drink an iced latte (of course, decaf for me). But these trips to Starbucks are starting to make me feel pretty guilty when I know that money should be going into the diaper fund. So, I decided to just start making my own. It is super easy to do and, I think, tastes just as good as Starbucks.

ICED LATTE, makes 10-12 servings

1 pot of your favorite coffee, strong brewed

1 cup of simple syrup

half and half

ice cubes

Start by making a full pot of coffee. Make it twice as strong as you typically would, it will be diluted by some  ice cubes and dairy. And in my opinion, why bother with a wimpy coffee. When the coffee is brewed, let it cool down a bit. Once cooled, transfer to a pitcher and place into fridge to chill.

Transfer strong brewed coffee to pitcher

While coffee is chilling, make a batch of Simple Syrup. I prefer simple syrup for my cold drinks, especially my iced lattes, because if you just add granulated sugar to a cold beverage it will not completely dissolve. You will have a heap of sugar at the bottom of your glass. Yuck.

Put equal parts, 1 cup water and 1 cup granulated sugar, into a pot. Bring to a boil. Boil until all sugar has dissolved, about 1 minute. When mixture looks like water again, remove from heat and let cool. Once cooled transfer to a container to store in the fridge. I like to use a glass jar. This will keep for a long time, all summer if not longer.

Make a batch of Simple Syrup

Once your simple syrup and coffee has cooled, grab yourself a tall glass of ice. Add in your dairy of choice. I prefer 1/2 and 1/2, because…why not. Fill the rest of the glass with coffee and add in simple syrup to your desired sweetness.

Add dairy, coffee, and syrup

Stir and enjoy iced lattes for days to come!

Of course your imagination is the limit with this recipe. Brew a flavored coffee, use no dairy, use soy, add some chocolate syrup instead of simple syrup, put in a splash of Kahlua for an adult-only beverage, use decaf coffee so you can enjoy a glass in the hot summer evening…use your imagination!

~ by jennamvavra on June 22, 2010.

One Response to “Iced Lattes”

  1. oooh iced decaf coffee for my late in the day cooldown………i am going to make some! thanks for the incentive jenna!

Leave a Reply

 
