Meatloaf, Jenna Style

I have created Interactive Blogging! With this post you will chose how it starts, that way I don’t have to disclose what really happened that lead me to making this meal. Are you ready! Set! Go! 

  1. In order to continue my quest to be the perfect 50’s housewife, it left me no choice but to make a meal for my husband that June Cleaver may have made her own family. It’s not that I want to eat this, but in order to keep true to my blog I had no choice. Besides, in 1954 this would have been a perfectly complete meal. Here is my recipe for….
  2. I survived one day of eating really healthy. Yes, I hang my head in shame. But as noted in my previous post I was not holding my breath on this resolution of eating healthy and losing weight. Below you will find our supper, although delicious, it definitely won’t be found in the Biggest Loser Cookbook this season. I never said I was perfect. Here is my recipe for…..
  3. I am going to share with you a meal I made for my husband. Now, because it isn’t a really healthy meal I did not have a single bite of it. I stuck to eating my carrots and celery sticks. I am set on keeping this New Year’s resolution even if that means my husband drooling over his meal and I picking out that stringy celery stuff from my teeth. Here is my recipe for…..

  

Meatloaf Muffins, makes 20 

I like to make food in muffin pans as it is easy to freeze and reheat single servings later. This recipe does make a fairly big batch as I like to make it on a Sunday and have meatloaf sandwiches throughout the week. If you wish, feel free to bake this in a loaf pan or two. Another great use for muffin pans is with stuffing (thanks Rachael Ray), everyone gets the delicious crunchy, crispy sides of the stuffing this way. Again, also great for freezing. 

Ingredients for Meat Muffins

 

3 lbs. ground beef 

1 lb. ground pork 

1 c. quick cook oats 

1 c. baby carrots 

3 stalks celery 

1/2 onion 

2 tsp crushed garlic 

1 tsp salt 

1/2 tsp black pepper 

2 eggs 

Glaze: 

3/4 c. ketchup 

2 Tbsp yellow mustard 

2 Tbsp brown sugar 

1 Tbsp Worcestershire 

~Preheat oven to 375 degrees. 

~Begin recipe by putting into a large bowl ground beef, pork, and oats. I do like to pulse my oats, 7-9 times, in my food processor before adding to meat. Simply because I am a bit weird about seeing breakfast in my supper. Mix until meats have just started to come together. The best tools for this are the ones God gave you. Take your impeccably clean hands and squish away! 

Meat and Oats

 

~Next, and this is a secret ladies, is my way of sneaking veggies into my meatloaf. I promise you that your husband and kids will have no idea.  Add your carrots, celery, onion, and garlic into the food processor. Blend until finely chopped. This will also help add moisture to your meatloaf. 

Secret Ingredient...VEGGIES!

 

Veggies in disguise

 

~Add the finely chopped vegetables into the meat mixture, along with two eggs, salt and pepper. Mix until well combined. If mixture appears to dry, you can add in1/4-1/3 c. of milk 

~Once mixture is combined, roll into balls (about a palmful) and put into an ungreased muffin pan. Stir, in a small bowl, the ingredients for the glaze. Brush onto each muffin. 

Brush on Glaze

 

~ Bake in preheated oven for approx. 45 minutes. If you wish, feel free to put on more glaze halfway through baking. 

All ready to eat!

 

~Serve your muffins along side boiled new potatoes tossed with parsley and butter, as well as stuffing and corn. I get a helping hand by making stuffing from a box and thawing out frozen corn. No shame in getting a helping hand here and there! Enjoy your meal! 

Enjoy!

 

 *My recipe has been created by combining some of the world’s best chefs recipes- my mother, my mother-in-law, and Ms. Stewart. Thank you for inspiring me!

~ by jennamvavra on January 11, 2010.

7 Responses to “Meatloaf, Jenna Style”

  1. Looks mouth-wateringly wonderful!

  2. Looks wonderful! Thanks for the recipe, I will be following you. I to LOVE to cook, this would be a great meal for my family when I’m flying the friendly skies! Thanks

  3. Jenna, I didn’t realize how hungry I was for meatballs until I saw this recipe! Can’t wait to try it!

  4. what a GREAT way to get more veggies in! and I LOVE your new format!

  5. oh yes and I am quite sure the answer is #3 😛

  6. ummm….yummmmm….these look so good, they will be tried in these house soon.

    wonderful blog, keep up the good work, jenna. -jina

  7. I made your meatloaf the other night and I can honestly say it was the best meatloaf I have had! I loved the veggies in it! I changed it up just a bit. I split the recipe in half and didn’t use any pork. I also made a loaf instead of the minis only because I’ve had bad luck in the past with them getting too dry…but I think with your recipe they would have been fine because it stayed so moist. I even made the potatoes and corn with it because your picture looked so good. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe, I will surely being using it again!

Leave a Reply

 
