Steak Salad with Gorgonzola Crumbles and Dried Cranberries

ME: Can we leave for your parents an hour late?

HUSBAND: Why?

ME: I have NO jeans to wear. I need to finish washing that pair.

HUSBAND: What do you mean NO jeans? You have 7 pairs right there, not to mention 4 pairs of yoga pants, 5 pairs of dress pants, and who knows how many fleece pants you have.

ME: I know, I know. But none of them fit.

HUSBAND: None?

ME: (Crying begins) I ate too many Christmas cookies, cheeseballs, hams, turkey legs, mashed potatoes, ice cream, pies……………………….

The holidays are done and I am pretty sure I gained at least five pounds. No, seriously. Of course my New Year’s resolution is to lose weight and have that bikini worthy body by the time summer roles around. But you and I both know, the odds are stacked against me. Sure I will eat a salad tonight and be certain the next 10 nights I will also be eating something just as healthy. But I won’t kid myself. Next weekend when I am talking to my mother on the phone, crunching in her ear, and she asks “Are you eating carrots?” I will tell the truth and say “No mother, I am finishing my second bag of Ruffles Sour Cream and Onion Chips.” (Crying commences once again)

But in the meantime, I will pretend that I am going to lose the weight, that I am going to eat healthy all the time, that this year is the year! While I am in this state of mind I am going to share with you my favorite salad. The salad I reach for when my body is begging me for greens. I heart my steak salad!

Salads are such a great go-to meal because your imagination is your only limit. As you will see with my recipe you can easily change each ingredient to fit your tastes. I really feel that way about most recipes. Don’t feel that you can’t try a recipe because you don’t like a certain ingredient, just change it or remove that ingredient all together. Experiment when you’re cooking! Take risks! Push boundaries! Be that dare-devil you wish you could be when facing the rest of the world! This is your chance! If you don’t like steak, use chicken. Gorgonzola makes you gag, use feta. Allergic to dried cranberries, use apples. Pecans make you cringe, use walnuts. Use my recipe as a starting point…make it so you crave it all the time, just as I do.

Steak Salad w/Gorgonzola Crumbles and Dried Cranberries, serves 2

Ingredients for Steak Salad

1 bag of chopped romaine lettuce

1/2 lb of steak (with salad you can pick whatever is on sale), thinly sliced

1/2 c. diced cucumber

1/4 c. thinly sliced red onion

1/2 c. gorgonzola crumbles

1/4 c. dried cranberries

1/4 c. chopped pecans

1 tsp. chopped garlic

1 tsp. canola oil

salt and pepper to taste

balsamic vinegar and oil to drizzle on top

~Begin your dish by thinly slicing your steak. If you have time put it into your freezer for 15-30 minutes. This partial freeze will make it easier to slice thinner. Always make sure to cut your meat against the grain. What the heck does that mean, you ask? Look at your meat. You can see that the meat has a “grain” (like wood) that will run in a certain direction. Whatever direction it runs, cut it the opposite. This will help keep the meat tender. You will cut against the fat and muscle instead of with it, making it much less chewy in the end. Season both sides of steak with salt and pepper.

Thinly Sliced Flank Steak, against the grain

 ~Once steak is sliced, add oil and garlic into a pan over medium-high heat. Add steak quickly so you do not burn the garlic. Cook steak to desired doneness. Remove from heat when steak is browned and done to your preference. Even if you eat your steak well-done, this will not take long as it is cut so thin.  Note: if it isn’t -63 degrees below zero, feel free to grill your steak.

Brown Steak with garlic

 ~ Once the steak is done, your salad is pretty close to being done. Another reason why this recipe is so great….easy! Dice your cucumbers and slice the red onion. I like to buy hydroponic cucumbers, also known as english cucumbers. You will find these wrapped in plastic. When you can’t get fresh cucumbers from the garden these are second best. The skin is thin so there is no need to peel them and seeds are very tender, easy to eat.

Hydroponic Cucumber, diced

Red Onion, thinly sliced

~We’re rounding to home now…divided lettuce into large bowls, top with steak, add cucumbers and onion, sprinkle the gorgonzola crumbles, dried cranberries, and chopped pecans over top. Note: I forgot about the pecans until I was eating the salad. Don’t forget. These add a much needed texture to the dish.

Toppings have been added

~All we have left to do is drizzle your desired amount of balsamic vinegar and oil over top.

Steak Salad!

Your meal is complete! This salad would be great served with a slice or two of french bread slathered in butter (hmm…is that the start of the slipperly slope to the bag of chips).

~ by jennamvavra on January 9, 2010.

4 Responses to “Steak Salad with Gorgonzola Crumbles and Dried Cranberries”

  1. HA…LOL…loved the beginning! And who knew about the English cuc’s…good tips!

  2. LOL you are a funny girl!! and all this time I thought you were eating carrots!

  3. That salad looks wonderful!! Thanks for the great photos as well. Keep up the good work.

  4. Wow, Jenna. This is so awesome! Love the pictures and the step by step instructions. I will be making this salad soon!

Leave a Reply

 
